West Palm Beach Ignition Interlock Devices Lawyer
Ignition Interlock Devices in Florida DUI Cases
If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you will lose your license for a period of time that varies depending on the nature of your DUI. To get your license reinstated, you may need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car. An experienced West Palm Beach DUI defense attorney can help fight a DUI charge to avoid a conviction and serious ensuing penalties like an IID.
I am William Wallshein, and I have 30 years of criminal law experience, five of which involved working as a state prosecutor. Now, I put my insights about the prosecution into building strategic, aggressive defenses for my clients.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Florida drivers convicted of DUIs under certain circumstances must install an IID in their cars. This mechanism prevents someone from starting a car without first taking and passing a Breathalyzer test. You must breathe into the Breathalyzer to get the car started. Five minutes later, the Breathalyzer beeps so that you have to breathe again. After that, you must breathe into the Breathalyzer every 30 minutes. On each of those instances, the data from the Breathalyzer is sent to the Florida DMV.
For a first DUI conviction, the court can order an IID at its discretion unless your BAC was .15 or greater, or if there was a minor in the car at the time of DUI. In either of those two situations, you will be required to install an IID for up to six months.
Repeat DUI convictions are taken very seriously in Florida. If you are convicted of a second DUI, you will be required to install the IID for at least one year. However, if your BAC was .15 or greater, or there was a minor in the car, the court will order you to install the device for at least two years.
For a third conviction within 10 years of a second conviction, your license will be revoked for ten years. You may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement after two years, but you will be required to install the IID for two years after receiving the hardship reinstatement. For a fourth DUI, you may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement under a narrow set of circumstances. If you are in this position, you should consult a lawyer who can guide you this complex process.
How Is The IID Installed?
There are costs and inconveniences associated with getting an IID installed. If you cannot afford to install the IID, a portion of your fine may be used to cover the installation costs. Installation costs $70, and you must deposit a refundable $100. After that, the IID has to be calibrated monthly at a facility, which costs $67.50. You must make an appointment every month, and the appointment lasts about 45 minutes.
Consult a West Palm Beach DUI Lawyer
As a knowledgeable West Palm Beach criminal defense attorney with 30 years of experience in the field of criminal law, I will mount the strongest possible defense on your behalf. You can schedule an appointment with me in either of my two offices. One is located in West Palm Beach, near I-95 and PGA Boulevard, and the other is in West Palm Beach. Call 561-533-1221 or contact me through my online form for a free initial consultation. For your convenience, I accept credit cards.