West Palm Beach Guns/Weapons Crimes Lawyer
According to Giffords Law Center, someone is killed with a gun on average once every three hours in Florida. Since guns are so deadly, there are numerous laws regarding who can own a gun, the sales process, background checks, the ammunition and hardware that can be used with a gun, where guns can be taken publicly, and crimes involving weapons. If you have been charged with crime involving a gun or weapon, the consequences can be severe. In order to properly protect your rights and future, the first step you should take in your defense is contacting a qualified West Palm Beach guns/weapons crimes lawyer.
Common Firearms Charges
- Carrying a concealed firearm—According to Florida Statute 790.01, it is illegal to carry a concealed firearm unless the individual has a license to carry concealed. If a person has a license from another state to carry a concealed firearm that license will still apply in Florida. However, a person without any license is committing a felony of the third degree. Punishments include up to five year in prison, up to five years of probation, or up to $5,000 in fines.
- Carrying a concealed weapon—A person who is illegally concealing a weapon such as metallic knuckles, tear gas gun, or any other concealed weapon or electric weapon or device faces a misdemeanor of the first degree. Similar to a concealed firearm, Florida has concealed carry reciprocity, where a permit from another state will still apply. Punishment in these cases can include up to a year in county jail, up to a year of probation, and/or up to a $1,000 in fines.
- Improper exhibition of dangerous weapons or firearms—If a person is carrying a firearm or weapon and brandishes it in a manner that is rude, careless, out of anger, or to threaten another individual, that person could be charged with a misdemeanor of the first degree.
- Possession or Discharge of Destructive Device—The punishment for possessing or discharging a destructive device, such as a pipe-bomb or grenade, depends on the extent of damage done. The lowest possible charge would be a felony of the third degree but the charges only get more severe if there was intent to do bodily harm or property damage, if bodily harm or property damage was done, or if the destructive device caused death.
- Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon—A convicted felon who has not had their right to possess a firearm restored faces a mandatory three-year minimum sentence for possessing a firearm. The judge can also impose up to 15 years in prison, 15 year of probation, and/or $10,000 in fines.
Contact a Firearms and Weapons Defense Attorney in West Palm Beach Today
You may have believed you were only exercising your second amendment rights, when you found yourself on the wrong side of the law. Gun and weapons charges can be state crimes or federal crimes and the consequences can be severe. The best step you can take if you are facing firearm or weapons charges is to seek skilled legal counsel. Contact William Wallshein, a skilled West Palm Beach firearms and weapons defense attorney at 561-533-1221 for a free consultation today.